Mid-Atlantic 2000


Springboard’s 2nd Forum Program

About Mid-Atlantic: 2000

Co-hosted by Springboard Enterprises, the National Women’s Business Council, the Morino Institure, the Women’s Growth Capital Fund and America Online, the Springboard: Mid-Atlantic 2000 program featured 44 of the most promising high-growth, women-led companies in e-commerce, technology, and life sciences. The Forum was held on July 11-12, 2000 at the America Online headquaters in Dulles, VA, showcasing the entrepreneurs before an audience of the area’s top corporate, angel, and venture investors.

About our accelerators Get Involved

Quick Navigation



Partner Sponsors:

Forum Supporters:

Contributing Sponsors:

In-Kind Sponsors:

  • Great Ideas Radio
  • i2works, Inc.
  • The Ideas Group
  • MarkeTek
  • Merritt Group, Inc.

Supporting Organizations:

Venture Partners

Forum Committees

Recruiting Committee:

  • Gina Dubbé, Steve Walker & Associates
  • Suzanne King, New Enterprise Associates
  • Jonathan Shames, Ernst & Young

Screening Committee:

  • Wendee Kanarek, Women’s Growth Capital Fund
  • Charles Ross, Telecommunications Development Fund
  • Rob Stein, Women’s Growth Capital Fund
  • April Young, Imperial Bank

Coaching Committee:

  • Shawn Beckerman, Silicon Valley Bank
  • Nancy Killefer, McKinsey & Co.
  • John May, New Vantage Partners
  • Nancy Spangler, Piper Marbury Rudnick & Wolfe LLP

Marketing Committee:

  • Chuck Lyons, Post-Newsweek Business Information, Inc.
  • Marie-Louise Murville, Lazard Technology Partners
  • Jane-Scott Cantus, Christian & Timbers

Bootcamp Committee:

  • Shirley Edwards, Arthur Andersen
  • Penny Pickett, Telecommunications Development Fund
  • Tom Weithman, Virginia’s Center for Innovative Technology

Program Committee:

  • Rosel Halle, Dingman Center for Entrepreneurial Leadership
  • Sue Molina, Deloitte & Touche
  • Roy Morris, MIT Enterprise Forum

Forum Committee

  • Anne Armstrong, Virginia’s Center for Innovative Technology
  • Marc Benson, Mid-Atlantic Venture Fund
  • Dyan Brasington, MD High Technology Council
  • John Burton, Updata Capital, Inc.
  • Tony Buzzelli, Deloitte & Touche
  • Sheila Clark, America Online, Inc.
  • Trish Costello, Kauffman Center for Entrepreneurial Leadership
  • Mike Devine, Arthur Andersen
  • Mark Esposito, NASDAQ
  • Harry Glazer, Greenberg Traurig
  • Cal Hackeman, Grant Thornton
  • Veronica Haggert, Motorola Ventures
  • John Hurley, Morino Institute/MAVA
  • Beverly Keil, Post-Newsweek Business Information
  • Bobbie Kilberg, Northern Virginia Tech Council
  • Nancy Killefer, McKinsey & Co.
  • Barbara Krumsiek, Calvert Group
  • Rudolph Lamone, Dingman Center for Entrepreneurial Leadership
  • Debra Lee, BET Holdings, Inc.
  • Ginger Lew, Telecommunications Development Fund
  • Art Marks, New Enterprise Associates
  • John May, New Vantage Partners
  • Mario Morino, Morino Institute
  • George Otchere, SAIC
  • Linda Powers, Toucan Capital Corporation
  • Gene Riechers, Friedman Billings Ramsey
  • Lou Scanlan, UUcom
  • Mike Selfridge, Silicon Valley Bank
  • Jonathan Shames, Ernst & Young
  • Deborah Shore, First Union Corp.
  • John Sidgmore, UUNET
  • Phillip Singerman, MD TEDCO
  • Esther Smith, The Poretz Group
  • Nancy Spangler, Piper Marbury Rudnick Wolfe LLP
  • Joan Sweeney, Allied Capital Corp.
  • Steve Walker, Steve Walker & Associates
  • Mark Warner, Columbia Capital Corp.
  • Jay Young, D.C. Technology Council
  • April Young, Imperial Bank
  • Debra Diamond, Debra Diamond and Associates
  • Penny Lewandowski, Greater Baltimore Technology Council
  • RoseAnn Rosenthal, Ben Franklin Technology Partners
  • Jerry Johnson, Safeguard Scientifics, Inc.
  • Erskine Bowles, Forstmann Little
  • Monica Doss, Council for Entrepreneurial Development
  • Palmer Garson, Jefferson Capital Partners