Springboard Enterprises

SBE Australia 2013

SBE Australia 2013

 About Australia: 2013

The Springboard: Australia 2013 Accelerator Program featured eight (8) of the most promising high-growth, women-led companies in technology and life sciences headquartered in Australia. The companies participated in a Bootcamp program February 12, 2013 at Bloomberg headquarters in Sydney sponsored by Patrons Grant Thornton LLP, Kemp Strang, and the City of Sydney with additional support from Program Sponsor Westpac and Supporters Aon, AT&T, Bloomberg, CA Technologies, Colour Perfect Printing, M.H. Carnegie & Co., Shangri-La Hotel, The Boson Group and TRUMEN.

What People Are Saying

“Australia’s business environment, the number of women running businesses, and Australian’s innovative approach to solving problems provided the right mix for our expansion of the Springboard Enterprises network to Australia.” –Kay Koplovitz, Chairman, Springboard Enterprises

“The City [of Sydney] agreed to host this official [Springboard] launch because, as Australia’s global city, we must keep the entrepreneurial fires burning. Innovation, more than ever, is the name of the game.” -Lord Mayor Clover Moore of Sydney

“This is more than helping women entrepreneurs succeed, this is about tapping into the sustainable resources that make our nation competitive and great – our people. Springboard creates the light that not only exposes these talented individuals but also nourishes and grows their businesses.” -Mike Baldwin, Executive Director of Innovation and Implementation, Westpac

“Springboard provides a unique service that helps women gain the necessary skills to drive their business ideas forward. Bloomberg is a company that supports women in business and finance, and we are pleased to work with organisations like Springboard.” -Amanda Dobbie, Head of Sales and Account Management, Bloomberg LP Australia and New Zealand

Screening Committee

  • Leigh Angus, UniQuest

  • Biljana Apostolova, Gadens Law Firm

  • Daren Armstrong, Kemp Strang

  • John Ason, Angel Investor (USA)

  • Ghazal Badiozamani, Solidia Technologies Inc.

  • Jon Baer, Threshold Ventures

  • Rick Baker, Blackbird Ventures

  • Mike Baldwin, Westpac

  • Cynthia Balogh, Women in Global Business

  • Faz Bashi, Life Science Angels

  • Suzy Baxter, ANZ bank

  • Babette Bensoussan, Mindshifts

  • Anne-Marie Birkill, One-Ventures

  • Pamela Blaikie, UniQuest

  • Kerry Burke, Covington & Burling

  • Benjamin Chong, Right Click Capital

  • Alexandra Commins, RMB Capital Partners

  • Connie Connors, Connie Connors Inc.

  • Topaz Conway, Commercialisation Australia

  • Michael Cunningham, Grant Thornton Australia

  • Lubna Dajani, Stratemerge

  • Richard Dale, Commercialisation Australia

  • Amanda Dobbie, Bloomberg

  • Sharon Doyle, InterFinancial Corporate Finance

  • Fiona Drake, Grant Thornton Australia

  • Bob Dunne, Group Advantage

  • Mark Ellis, Investec Bank Australia

  • Debra Filtzer, American Express

  • Viki Forrest, ANZA Technology Network

  • Stuart Fox, Proto Investment Partners

  • Paul Gooley, Grant Thornton Australia

  • Kerry Gore, Westpac

  • Rob Goudswaard, Rural Finance

  • Ernest Graf, Fisher Adams Kelly

  • Kathleen Healy, Angel Investor

  • Carrie Hillyard, CM Capital

  • J. Kelly Hoey, Women Innovate Mobile

  • Ben Hosken, Flink Labs

  • David Hunt, SustainAsia (Australia)

  • Claudia Iannazzo, Pereg Ventures

  • Matt Ingram, Investec Bank Australia

  • Sian Jamisyn, ivantage

  • Jim Kalokerinos, Brisbane Angels Group

  • Alice Leung, Sapientiae

  • Craig Lawn, PricewaterhouseCoopers

  • Mike Loftus, ANZA Technology Network and The Glue USA

  • Marco Marcou, MAP Capital Advisors

  • Tony Markwell, Grant Thornton Australia

  • Robert Mashal, NKT Therapeautics

  • Zachary Midalia, M. H. Carnegie & Co.

  • Riddhi Mittal, Mohr Davidow Ventures

  • Ben McCallum, M. H. Carnegie & Co.

  • Laura McKenzie, Starfish Ventures

  • Nicky Milsom, Magnetica

  • Jeff Miller, Investec Bank Australia

  • Patrick Mooney, WorldStage

  • Betsy Morgan, The Blaze

  • Maureen Murphy, Clear Track

  • Rosemary O’Connor, Accomplish

  • Rana Pala, Grant Thornton Australia

  • Nancy Parenteau, Ingenium Biotherapy

  • Nick Peace, Starfish Ventures

  • Suzanne Pierce, Office of the NSW Chief Scientist and Engineer

  • Maxine Rich, Investec Bank Australia

  • Carmen Riley, Clifford Hallam Healthcare

  • Jukka Rinta, Westpac

  • Duncan Savage,Westpac

  • Jason Seed, NSW Govt Office San Francisco

  • Anne Shehab, Golden Seeds

  • Patrick Silvey, Venturepro

  • Wendy Simpson, Springboard Enterprises (Aus)

  • Kenneth Smith, MIT Enterprise Forum

  • Andrew Sneddon – PAFtec

  • Kerri Lee Sinclair, Aconex

  • Lilian Stern, Stern Investor Relations

  • Lynnor Stevenson, DesignMedix

  • Grant Stewart, PricewaterhouseCoopers

  • Grant Stonier, Davies Collision Cave

  • Marla Supnick, Unified Field

  • Sushma Rajagopalan, LiquidHub

  • Alison Taunton-Rigby, Ribonovix

  • Bill Trestrail, Market Momentum

  • Tracy Warren, Battelle Ventures

  • Raj Wilson, Westpac

  • Terry Woodcroft, Uniquest



Program Sponsor


Springboard Australia Patron Sponsors

Pipeline Partners


Board Members

  • Mina Ames, Egon Zehnder International

  • Anne-Marie Birkill, One Ventures

  • Topaz Conway, Commercialisation Australia

  • Paul Gooley, Grant Thornton Australia

  • Rosemary O’Connor, Accomplish

  • Wendy Simpson, Trumen

  • Bill Trestrail, Market Momentum

Council of National Advisors

  • Monica Barone, City Of Sydney

  • Bonnie Boezeman, Urban Growth NSW

  • Doron Ben-Meir, Commercialisation Australia

  • Kay Koplovitz, Springboard Enterprises

  • Maxine Rich, Investec Bank Australia

  • Carol Schwartz, Trawalla Group

  • Tim Sims, Pacific Equity Partners

  • Lucy Turnbull, Prima Biomed

  • Katherine Woodthorpe, Australian Private Equity and Venture Capital Association

Organizing Committee

  • Mike Baldwin, Westpac Bank

  • Kerri Lee Sinclair, Aconex

  • Viki Forrest, ANZA Technology

  • Melissa Widner, Head Over Heels